Almost Accident

Squinting against the sunlight, I push my sunglasses up higher on my nose. The weather has been beautiful for a week straight, but we could use a little rain at some point soon. The warm, sunshiny days do make for a nice drive to work in the morning, though. I flip on my turn signal and ease into the turn lane to my left. Of course the light is red, it’s always red when I reach it, but I don’t mind sitting for another minute or so listening to my music before I get to work.

Just after I make it into the turn lane and still with some distance to go before I roll to a stop, a sedan from the far right lane darts across the road, ending up right in front of me. I slam on my breaks and am relieved they keep on going to the far left lane on the other side of mine. I don’t even have time to mutter my usual sarcastic comment of, “Nice turn signal,” before I sense a looming presence to my right.

A work truck is trying to get into my lane, right where I am! I can’t get over because of the car that’s there now, the one that cut me off. I slam on my breaks again and push on my horn. I hate honking at people because I don’t want them to think I’m being a jerk. But sometimes you just gotta do what you gotta do! The driver pulls away and waits for me to pass before trying again.

As I slow to a stop at the light, my heart is pounding and my hands are shaking from the adrenaline, but I still feel strangely calm. I know my Heavenly Father was taking care of me. On top of that, I know even if my morning had turned out differently, He still would have been taking care of me. Romans 8:28 is still true. It’s one thing to know that in your head, but when you can go through something (big or little!) and know it in your heart, too, it’s pretty remarkable.

I am thankful I was able to avoid an accident, though!

Leave a Reply

